Murthly Estate, Murthly, Perth, PH1 4HP
Murthly Castle has been owned by three families since the original tower house was built in 1450. The Stewarts of Grantully acquired the property in 1615 and the present owner is Thomas Steuart Fothringham, who lives at the property with his family.
The castle was developed gradually over a 450-year period, with the latest addition dating from 1893. Consequently, there is a wide range of architectural styles both inside and outside.
The Chapel of St. Anthony the Eremite lies 200 yards from the castle and is a gem in itself, designed by James Gillespie Graham, assisted by a young A.W. Pugin.
Finally, the walled garden was laid out in 1661 and, though there have been many changes since then, retains some original features such as the summer house, fountain and yew hedges.