Join

Plas Brondanw

Gardens considered by some to be Clough Williams-Ellis's most important creation.

Llanfrothen, near Penrhyndeudraeth, Gwynedd, LL48 6SW

Plas Brondanw in Gwynedd, Wales

Experience this house

History

Accessibility
  • Guide dogs welcome
  • Accessible toilets
  • Accessible parking
Visit the house's website
for the latest information.

The house was built by John ap Hywel in about 1550, and another member of the family, William Williams, made various improvements in 1660. The names Williams and Ellis became linked together in 1807 when the Reverend John Ellis married Jane Bulgin, who was heiress to the Williams estate. Clough Williams-Ellis inherited the run-down Plas Brondanw from his father in 1908, when he was aged 25, and set about restoring both the house and the gardens. The house itself had by this time been split into apartments, and the garden had been turned into allotments.

In 1951 the property was badly damaged by fire, and this event, and the subsequent restoration of the property, is commemorated by a flaming urn statue, mounted at the top of a waterfall. The restoration was completed by December 1953.

Also across the road, but within the grounds of Plas Brondanw, Williams-Ellis had constructed a folly named Folly Castle. A plaque records that the castle was “a wedding present from the Welsh Guards to Clough Williams-Ellis and Amabel Strachey in 1915.” Located on a small hill, it affords good views of the surrounding landscape. Scenes from the film The Inn of the Sixth Happiness and the Doctor Who episode The Five Doctors were filmed at the folly.

Accessibility
  • Guide dogs welcome
  • Accessible toilets
  • Accessible parking
Visit the house's website
for the latest information.