Pentillie Castle

St Mellion, Saltash, Cornwall, PL12 6QD

Stuccoed castellated house on the banks of the Tamar.

Pentillie Castle with pool Pentillie Drone - Kite Vision

Experience this house


Key Information

  • Getting Here
  • Accessibility

The Castle was built in 1698 by Sir James Tillie, land agent to the nearby estate of Sir John Coryton. When Sir John mysteriously died aged only 42, Tillie married his widow, joining the two estates and considerably improving his wealth. He had grandiose ideas of himself and commissioned a statue of his likeness to stand outside the Castle.

Before Sir James Tillie passed away, he asked to be interred in a purpose-built mausoleum at Pentillie, so he would be ready for his resurrection – a statue of him still remains in the mausoleum today.

In 1809, the Castle was remodelled into a commanding castle, fit for its location over the Tamar Valley, by William Wilkins.

Today, the estate is managed by the latest generation of the Coryton family, who are keen to preserve the magic of Pentillie for centuries to come, ensuring it remains one of the best Cornish castles to visit. Since taking over the Castle, the family have restored the Mausoleum and uncovered even more of the fascinating history of Sir James Tillie.

Please check the website for further information, admission times and details about special events.

Visit the house's website