Museum Opening Hours Increase at Home of William Morris
Museum opening hours at Kelmscott House in Hammersmith, the beloved home of Victorian designer, poet, writer and socialist William Morris, have been extended to include opening from 12 – 5pm on a Sunday afternoon and 12 – 5pm on Thursdays and Saturdays. Positioned on the towpath of the Upper Mall overlooking the Thames, it is hoped these extended opening hours will encourage a wider audience to the museum including those enjoying a weekend lunchtime or afternoon riverside walk. Admission to the museum is free.
Whilst the majority of Kelmscott House is privately owned and not open to the public, The William Morris Society operate a small museum and exhibition space in the basement rooms and Coach House of the property. The Society hosts a series of talks, workshops, tours and changing displays open to all. More information about these activities can be found on the charity’s website: www.williammorrissociety.org
William Morris and his family lived at Kemscott House for the last 18 years of his life.
It was here that he began carpet weaving, wove his first tapestry and continued his innovating approach to design. Morris established the Hammersmith branch of the Socialist League in the Coach House of the property and in 1891 he set up the Kelmscott Press, his private printing press, a few doors away.