Substantial 16th century timber framed hall house with large 17th century porch all encased in Regency remodeling of circa 1815.

Current owner’s family have lived here since 1906. Filled with interesting family memorabilia. Estate tour includes early 19th century flannel mill, corn mill of 14th century origins and a recently created Gothic ‘ferme ornée'. Believed to be on the site of a grange of the local Cistercian abbey Strata Marcella, the very pretty stuccoed house nestles between its flanking brick stable and laundry pavilions with far reaching views over the Severn valley.

The grounds include rhododendrons part of the documented regency planting, a fine avenue of yew trees partly cut down to build the house, a 1950’s woodland hillside garden topped by a pair of carved stone memorial urns designed by William Kent and a recent terrace supported by cyclopean stone blocks. The tour is guided by the owner who has spent 30 years restoring the estate and is now turning his hand to the main house- so this is very much work in progress.

Having worked in a major auction house and been on the National Trust Committee for Wales the owner has much of interest to say not only about the architecture and contents but also his fascinating ancestors.