Please note: This house does not offer free entry to Historic House members.
For alternative options please see other opening options.
The thousand acre Pitchford Estate is a dairy, sheep and arable farm with extensive woodland located six miles south of Shrewsbury in one of England's most rural counties, Shropshire. The Estate is home to Pitchford Hall (Generals' Quarters), Windy Mundy Farm, Stockbatch Granary and Tree House Barn, four holiday lets available as holiday accommodation for groups of up to 14, 16, 14 and 4 respectively.
With stunning interiors and an idyllic location, these properties offer a country escape that we hope that you'll love as much as we do.
Please check the website for further information, admission times and details for our special eventsVisit website
Go on a private tour of Pitchford Hall and explore the main rooms on the ground floor, including the Great Hall and Drawing Room. Guests will allso visit Room A (The Priest Hole Room) and Room B (The Princess Victoria Room). They often also include the Victorian Kitchen and General’s Quarters on the tour but dependant on the current state of the rooms.
About half the tour takes place outside, so please bring suitable outdoor clothing and footwear in case of wet weather.
1.5 - 2 hours
£20.00 per person.
£25.00 per person for seasonal tours including wine and canapes.
Tea and cakes in the great hall or on the lawn.
No wheelchair access. There are steps into the hall and up to the tree house. Please let us know if you have a disability so extra help can be arranged if necessary.
Part of the tour is outside, so suitable outdoor clothing and footwear is required.
Pitchford Estate makes an ideal venue for wedding receptions because of the many accommodation options and stunning architecture right across the Estate all set within the idyllic Shropshire countryside.
Peacefully situated within the 1,000 acres of the Pitchford Estate, this property, which sleeps 16, offers spacious holiday accommodation.
Windy Mundy Farm has been converted from an 18th century threshing barn and has the ‘wow factor’. Built on top of a south-facing hill overlooking the Row Brook, it is surrounded by fields of wheat and barley and has spectacular, far-reaching views of the Shropshire hills. Enclosed by a long red sandstone wall, the farm has its own courtyard garden with a patio and barbecue.
Pitchford Hall's history and features
Pitchford Hall has a long and largely peaceful history, having passed between many owners in its time and seen many alterations and renovations. Royalty have been infrequent guests, sometimes on pleasant vacations and sometimes on more urgent business. Boasting architectural oddities, wandering cigar-smoking ghosts and the weight of centuries, there's plenty to discover on the Pitchford Estate.
Pitchford derives its name from a naturally occurring pitch, or bitumen, well by the Row Brook within the grounds and is one of the few such wells in the country. The bitumen was used for waterproofing and protecting the exposed timbers of the house. Opposite the pitch well is a ford across the Row, hence Pitchford.
Historical records relate that a mediaeval manor house existed somewhere on the site from at least 1284 to 1431 and it is possible that portions of the earlier house may survive within the fabric of the west wing. Soon after the three wings were completed a garderobe tower was added to the north east corner, overlooking the brook and rolling parkland. Many of the 16th century arrangements have been altered by successive waves of taste and need, with the exception of the drawing room where the paneling and ceiling are amongst the finest of their type and date back to 1626.
Festive tour, £25 including mulled wine and mince pies.
Described as Britain’s finest half-timbered house, Pitchford Hall was owned by the Colthurst family for more than 500 years before being sold in 1992. Now on the ‘at Risk’ register, the house has been bought back by Rowena Colthurst and her husband, who are embarking on the massive task of saving it, following 25 years of neglect. The house is named after a natural pitch well in the grounds. Prince Rupert hid from the Roundheads in the priest-hole here during the Civil War and Princess (later Queen) Victoria played in the Tudor-style treehouse. The ‘restoration’ tours will include the main rooms on the ground floor, the priest-hole room and the Princess Victoria room.