Pitmuies has known three periods – the first of a house recorded in the late 1500s. Remains of that house, with its worn stone spiral staircase, faces south over the garden.
The grander west facing front is believed to date from 1680's. Pitmuies was modernised to the 18th century standards some hundred years later when the two pavilions were added, one a music room and one a library. Also the ionic pillared porch and alterations to the windows were deemed necessary. The arched entrance into the courtyard carries date stones 1770 and 1820.
The garden walls date back to 1780 and create a microclimate of peace and tranquillity. Pitmuies' gardens are have a unique feature in that they surround the house.
Open daily 1st April - 30th September.
10.00 am to 5.00 pm.
Pitmuies Gardens is easily accessible by car next to the A932 half-way between Forfar and Arbroath.
Car park on site
- Guide dogs welcome
- Accessible parking
A word from the owner
The gardens at Pitmuies are world renowned. They are believed to date back to the eighteenth century and the garden walls are shown on a map of 1814. They have been greatly enhanced and developed since the 1920's , and were one of the first gardens to open to the public through Scotlands Gardens in 1931,.