Built and mostly designed by William Cecil, Lord High Treasurer to Queen Elizabeth I, between 1555 and 1587, the main part of the House has 35 major rooms on the ground and first floors.
There are more than 80 lesser rooms and numerous halls, corridors, bathrooms and service areas. The lead roof extends to three quarters of an acre, restoration and rebuilding of which began in 1983 and took nearly ten years to complete.
Visitor facilities include the Orangery restaurant, gift shop, gardens and beautiful walks around the historic parkland laid out by Capability Brown and still occupied by a herd of fallow deer.
History can come alive in a single trip whether it is to enjoy a guided tour, take a dog for a walk in the park, take the children to paddle, see the gardens of surprise or take time over lunch in the Orangery.
Saturday 16 March to Sunday 3 November: Saturday to Thursday (closed Fridays except Good Friday), 11am to 5pm.
Optional guided tour at 3pm, subject to availability.
Burghley is 1 mile from Stamford and 20 minutes north of Peterborough on the A1.
Burghley’s nearest station is Stamford, approximately 1 mile from the entrance. This is either a pleasant 30 minute walk taking you through the park or a short taxi ride.
There is also an hourly bus service run by Delaine which serves the outlying villages and links Peterborough to Stamford.
Car park on site
Premier Cabs of Stamford 01780 757575
Historic Houses members visit for free.
Various prices for non-members, please see Burghley website.
- Accessible parking
- Wheelchair ramps/routes
- Accessible toilets
- Guide dogs welcome
Burghley continues to offer groups the opportunity to experience the Cecil family home in the heart of this 13,000 acre working Lincolnshire Estate.
The House is open Saturday, 17th March to Sunday, 28th October 2018 daily (except Fridays) from 11am to 5pm.
Various tours of the house and garden are available.
Burghley’s Staterooms are breathtaking, mainly due to two great collecting Earls. During the late 17th-century John, 5th Earl of Exeter (1648-1700) made four extended Grand Tours of Italy, purchasing an astonishing quantity of fine art.
A century later, Brownlow, 9th Earl (1725-1793) completed his ancestor’s planned alterations and also travelled, buying many more great treasures to complement those already at Burghley.
Burghley’s superb Tudor architecture with its fairytale roofline overlooking beautiful Gardens provides the perfect backdrop to your wedding ceremony and reception.
For a truly memorable wedding, Burghley can be yours exclusively. Splendid and elegant rooms in this magnificent setting are available for your wedding ceremony and right through to late night partying.
Sitting amidst rolling parkland, with easy access to the A1, and only one mile from Stamford station, the House itself has 3 function rooms whilst the gardens and parkland provide several potential marquee sites with fantastic views of the House and lake.
For a smaller or less formal meeting or seminar, rooms are available, seating up to 80 theatre style or 28 boardroom style. Local accommodation is available on the edges of Burghley Park.
The William Cecil Hotel can offer special rates to those using the facilities at the House. Please contact them for more information.
Educational opportunities dealing with historical, artistic, performance, literacy, mathematical and scientific themes are available all year round.
Visits can be self-led using free, supporting materials or guided by our experienced house staff and education officer, who delivers many themes in period costume.
Schools are encouraged to make their visit in period-style costume if appropriate.